Jump to content


Photo

Lcd Dash Fault


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Silver Fox

Silver Fox

    16 LX Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 May 2007 - 10:48 PM

Hi,
I own a 2002 Picasso 2.0 HDi. Recently, I noticed the clock reading 3.99 instead of 3.59, then I noticed a 5 had turned into a 6. One top horizontal on one of the O's in the year 2007 had disappeared, but would occasionally flash on. On changing the volume on the radio, the VOLUME and level display fragmented to such an extent I couldn't read it. Also, when I operate the computer stalk, several words that apear in the right hand section of the dash fragment. Strangely, I have noticed if the time shows an abnormality, if I turn the radio off, instantaneously it corrects itself, ie. a number misreading 9 will turn back into a 5. With no radio on, the display will fragment if the computer stalk is operated, generally the words to do with the overspeed warning. This only occurs to the right hand side of the dash display. No engine management faults are showing and my local citroen specialist cannot find the fault. It has no effect on the running of the car or operations of any functions whatsoever. The night before the fault, I did give the car a good clean. I am wondering if water has got into the electrics. I have disconnected the battery overnight to no avail. Any suggestions would be very welcome. Thanks.

#2 Dan Gleebitz

Dan Gleebitz

    2.0 HDi SX in Sahara Gold

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10202 posts

Posted 13 May 2007 - 11:16 PM

Does it turn over as fast as it used to ....? Duff battery?

Have you ever had a new windscreen?

#3 Silver Fox

Silver Fox

    16 LX Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 May 2007 - 07:47 PM

Does it turn over as fast as it used to ....? Duff battery?

Have you ever had a new windscreen?


Thanks for the reply Dan,

I've owned it for a year and haven't noticed an appreciable drop in turn over speed on starting. Would a slight drop in power do this to the dash and if so, to this part of the dash only? As for the screen, no, I haven't replaced it, but as I said, I did give it a wash the night before the fault and put the hose on it. My drive is on a twenty degree downhill slope and the car was facing uphill, thats why I thought it may be an ingress of water somewhere.

#4 Dan Gleebitz

Dan Gleebitz

    2.0 HDi SX in Sahara Gold

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10202 posts

Posted 14 May 2007 - 08:06 PM

There is some complicated electrickery under the dash which will be damaged by water ingress from a wrongly fitted windscreen.

Have you had a look see in the binnacle? Instructions under FAQs in the Tech section.

#5 Silver Fox

Silver Fox

    16 LX Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 May 2007 - 03:03 PM

There is some complicated electrickery under the dash which will be damaged by water ingress from a wrongly fitted windscreen.

Have you had a look see in the binnacle? Instructions under FAQs in the Tech section.


Dan,
I think the next logical step would be to take the LCD display out and take a look. Ive noticed the display on the faulty right hand side side tends to dim and then return to full brightness. It does this about once every seconds for a while when I first turn the ignition on as if there is a faulty connection somewhere.

#6 Teacherpete2

Teacherpete2

    Full Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5002 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 May 2007 - 06:40 PM

Hi Silverfox,

As you say, it definitely sounds, as if you've got a poor connection in one or more of the plugs on the back of the display. It seems strange that the radio 'interferes' with the display. It might be worth taking that out too and checking that its connectors are clean and fully home.
Growing old is compulsory; growing up isn't!
If you're not part of the solution...
...you're part of the precipitate!

#7 Silver Fox

Silver Fox

    16 LX Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 May 2007 - 09:47 PM

Hi Silverfox,

As you say, it definitely sounds, as if you've got a poor connection in one or more of the plugs on the back of the display. It seems strange that the radio 'interferes' with the display. It might be worth taking that out too and checking that its connectors are clean and fully home.

Finally got round to removing the LCD display, removed the two connectors and refitted them, all secure with no obvious problems. The same faults are still there. Can see no water ingress in the dash. Am beginning to think the LCD display has a fault. Trying to borrow one from another car to check its that before searching for a replacement. Can the LCD displays go that quick? Has anyone had a similar fault with a failing battery? Might have to get that checked as well although it turns the engine over fine.

#8 kfk

kfk

    Technical Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK
  • Interests:Computers, Chat and generally messing about on here......oh yes, i know a thing or two about citroens!

Posted 27 May 2007 - 11:23 PM

A word of warning.......before you go swapping parts with another vehicle.



The mileage for your vehicle is stored in both the instrument panel & The vehicles main Computer (BSI).



If you plug an instrument panel into it with a lower milage, then the main computer will upload the vehicle mileage to make it read correctly.



If the instrument panel has a higher milage recorded in it than the BSI, then the instrument panel will download the milage to correct the BSI.



If you swop instrument panels IT WILL ADJUST YOUR MILEAGE AND CANNOT BE CORRECTED AFTERWARDS.......Be warned



Obviously if you can find a speedo from a scrap yard that is reading less than your current milage it isnt going to be a problem to you.......if its a friends car you could end up buying them an instrument panel.

Edited by kfk, 27 May 2007 - 11:24 PM.

*************************************************
Wants some help, give me a clue.......petrol/diesel/engine size/year....Please post messages in main forum before asking me in Private Message

....Still waiting for proof that the customer is always right
....Has anyone checked the nut holding the steering wheel?

....Has anyone seen the crystal ball?

#9 Silver Fox

Silver Fox

    16 LX Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 May 2007 - 09:41 AM

A word of warning.......before you go swapping parts with another vehicle.
The mileage for your vehicle is stored in both the instrument panel & The vehicles main Computer (BSI).
If you plug an instrument panel into it with a lower milage, then the main computer will upload the vehicle mileage to make it read correctly.
If the instrument panel has a higher milage recorded in it than the BSI, then the instrument panel will download the milage to correct the BSI.
If you swop instrument panels IT WILL ADJUST YOUR MILEAGE AND CANNOT BE CORRECTED AFTERWARDS.......Be warned
Obviously if you can find a speedo from a scrap yard that is reading less than your current milage it isnt going to be a problem to you.......if its a friends car you could end up buying them an instrument panel.


Thanks KFK, for us novices that is what this forum is all about- gaining knowledge. Thanks again

#10 Dan Gleebitz

Dan Gleebitz

    2.0 HDi SX in Sahara Gold

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10202 posts

Posted 28 May 2007 - 05:09 PM

Added to the FAQs .... thanks KFK